Road to Pond’s Femina Miss India 2013

The finale of Pond’s Femina Miss India 2013 is scheduled to be held in Mumbai on 24th March 2013. Pond’s is the Title Sponsor for Femina Miss India 2013 so the pageant was named Pond’s Femina Miss India 2013. This year mark the 50th anniversary of India’s oldest and most credible beauty pageant and will see a few changes in the operation of the pageant.

>>> Sagarika Chhetri, Pond’s Femina Miss India Kolkata 2013
>>> Anukriti Gusain Crowned Pond’s Femina Miss India New Delhi 2013
>>> Navneet Kaur Dhillon Crowned Pond’s Femina Miss India Chandigarh 2013
>>> Sobhita Duhipala Crowned Pond’s Femina Miss India Bangalore 2013
>>> Zoya Afroz Crowned Pond’s Femina Miss India Indore 2013
>>> Gail Da Silva Crowned Pond’s Femina Miss India Goa 2013
>>> Saniah Baig Crowned Pond’s Femina Miss India Pune 2013

This year Ponds Femina Miss India will be conducting 12 city auditions and 7 City Pageants.
Shortlisted candidates from City Auditions will join a City Pageant. City Pageants will be conducted in the following cities: PUNE, GOA, INDORE, KOLKATA, CHANDIGARH, DELHI and ANGALORE. Winners of the City Pageants will join the final round of auditions of Ponds Femina Miss India 2013 .
The qualifying finalists will then take part in the Grand Finale of the Ponds Femina Miss India Pageant in 2013, which will crown the three Miss India’s: Miss India-World, Miss India-Earth, Miss India-International.

About Femina Miss India:
Miss India or Femina Miss India, organized by Femina, a women’s magazine published by Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd, is a national beauty pageant in India that annually selects three winners to compete globally. The winner of Femina Miss India World vies in Miss World, Femina Miss India Earth winner competes in Miss Earth, and the third winner, Femina Miss India International goes to compete in Miss International.

Femina Miss India used to select a winner and two runners up who were then sent to international contests such as Miss Universe, Miss World, and Miss Asia Pacific respectively. In 1995, the organizers ended the practice of crowning a single winner and instead decided that the contest would be used to crown three winners specifically to represent India at Miss Universe, Miss World, and Miss Asia Pacific. In 2002, the third winner was designated to Miss Earth instead of Miss Asia Pacific. In 2007, the organizers declared no more runners-up in the Femina Miss India contest: The three winners are equal.
In 2010, Femina Miss India decided that they would no longer send a representative to Miss Universe at all, and relinquished the Miss Universe franchise, choosing instead to designate the third winner to represent India in Miss International instead, a contest that it had historically sent a finalist to.

No Comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *